We are all responsible for ensuring the safety of our community's children.
If you suspect a child is being abused or neglected, please contact the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (TDFPS) toll free at 1-800-252-5400, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You may also file a report using the secure TDFPS website. Reports made through this website take up to 24 hours to process.
Call 911 or your local law enforcement agency if the situation is an emergency.
When should some call the abuse hotline rather than use this website?
Call the Texas Abuse Hotline at 1-800-252-5400 if:
You believe your situation requires action in less than 24 hours.
You have insufficient data to complete the required information on the report.
You do not want an e-mail to confirm your report.
When making a report of suspected abuse or neglect:
-Be specific. Tell exactly what happened and when. Be sure to record all injuries or incidents you have observed, including dates and time of day and keep this information secured.
-Give agency personnel any information you have about the relationship between the child and the suspected abuser.
-Be prepared to provide the following information:
Name, age, and address of the child
Brief description of the child
Current injuries, medical problems, or behavioral problems
Parents' names and names of siblings in the home (if you have this information).
-Reports should be made as soon as possible--no later than 48 hours before bruises and marks start to fade. It is important for the investigators to be able to see the physical signs of the suspected abuse.
If you have any doubts about whether or not what you have observed stems from abuse or neglect, call the hotline. The law requires you to make a report if you suspect abuse or neglect. You are not obligated to investigate, and doing so would likely put the child(ren) in greater danger.